Tuesday, September 13, 2011

The Luna Nova Ensemble

This is a past Tuesday Blog from 13 Sep 2011. 

From time to time, I stumble onto web sites that provide some "free"
music, and try and pass this information on to TalkClassical readers. In preoparing for an installment od the SotSQ in July, I found this website:


This site promotes the work of a new music ensemble based out of Memphis, TN (and, with any luck, one or more members are TC regulars...) Here are some words from the site's home page:

Since its formation in 2002, Luna Nova, a group of artists devoted to the music of the 20th and 21st centuries, has performed in colleges, museums, churches, and concert halls across the country. Its repertoire consists of recognized masterworks as well as works by emerging composers. With concerts, masterclasses and private instruction, Luna Nova maintains a strong commitment to the education of performers and listeners, and to the cause of new music. Luna Nova is currently the core ensemble for the Belvedere Chamber Music Festival held each June in Memphis, Tennessee.
Below, I have chosen a very small sampling of some of the music provided on the site - there are links to nearly 300 live recordings from Luna Nova events since 2003

There is a broad selection, from Bach, Chopin, Debussy and up to contemnporary American composers. 


Béla BARTÓK (1881–1945)
Six Roumanian Dances, Sz. 56
Gregory Maytan, violin
Adam Bowles, piano

Toru TAKEMITSU (1930–1996) 
Toward the Sea (1981)
John McMurtery, alto flute
Mark Volker, guitar

Sergei PROKOFIEV (1891–1953)
Piano Sonata No. 6 in A major, Op. 82
Adam Bowles, piano

Olivier MESSIAEN (1908 –1992)
Quatuor pour la fin du Temps for violin, cello, clarinet and piano I/22
Gregory Maytan, violin; Craig Hultgren, cello Adam Bowles, piano; Nobuko Igarashi, clarinet;

Internet Archive URL - https://archive.org/details/04QuartetTime2012

No comments:

Post a Comment