Friday, February 10, 2012

Montage # 42 - This and That / Comme ci, comme ça

As of March 16 2012, this montage will no longer be available on Pod-O-Matic. It can be heard or downloaded from the Internet Archive at the following address / A compter du 16 mars 2012, ce montage ne sera plus disponible en baladodiffusion Pod-O-Matic. Il peut être téléchargé ou entendu au site Internet Archive à l'adresse suivante:

================================================================= English Commentary – le commentaire français suit

For the second instalment of our Terrible Twos series, I assembled a montage made-up exclusively of two-part titles.

What do I mean? Something like "Toccata and Fugue" or "Introduction and Allegro":

(In the French commentary, I included another Introduction and Allegro, this one by Ravel).

I cover the bases, going from one of the many Toccatas and Fugues for organ by J.-S. Bach, all the way to a modern piece by Canada's Jacques Hétu (Adagio et Rondo), and hitting most of the big ones, including Chopin's breath taking Andante spianato and grande polonaise brillante.

From French composers Berlioz and Saint-Saëns, Rëverie et caprice and Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso, as well as other works by Liszt and Schumann.

I think you will love this music too.


Commentaire français

Pour le deuxième volet de notre série À deux c'est mieux, j'ai monté des pièces qui ont des titres en deux parties.

Qu'est-ce que je veux doire? Eh bien, des titres comme "Toccate et Fugue" et "Introduction et Allegro":

(J'ai intégré au commentaire anglais ci-dessus un autre "Introduction et Allegro", cette fois d'Elgar).

Mes sélections couvrent la musique barique (une des nombreuses toccates et fugues pour orgue de J.-S. Bach) et la musique contemporaiune (Adagio et Rondo du compositeur Canadien Jacques Hétu), en passant par Saint-Saëns, Berlioz, Liszt, Schumann et l'Andante spianato et grande polonaise Chopin.

Bonne écoute!

No comments:

Post a Comment